Alumni We are proud of our breathtaking Alumni
Olivia Coleman as The Queen in The Crown


We are incredibly proud of our alumni who can be found working across stage, screen and radio.

Notable acting alumni include: Helen Baxendale, Samantha Bond, Stephanie Cole, Olivia Colman, Annette Crosbie, Sir Daniel Day-Lewis, Naomie Harris, Jeremy Irons, Theo James, Alex Jennings, Christopher Biggins, Pearl Mackie, Faye Marsay, Cyril Nri, Tim Pigott-Smith, Pete Postlethwaite, Amanda Redman, Miranda Richardson, Dame Patricia Routledge, Adrian Scarborough, Malcolm Sinclair, Sir Patrick Stewart, Mark Strong, Sophie Thompson, Jane Lapotaire and Gene Wilder.

Our alumni are working throughout the Creative and Production side of the industry and include: current Artistic Director and Deputy Artistic Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC); Technical Director at the National Theatre; Award winning Set, Costume, Lighting and Sound Designers such as Christopher Shutt and Bob Crowley whose work has been seen in the West End, across the UK and internationally. Production Arts graduates go on to have careers in a wide range of jobs including in stage management, lighting, sound, automation and construction working with companies such as the RSC, The Globe, National Theatre, Welsh National Opera, Birmingham Royal Ballet and numerous other UK theatre venues and companies, and international theatre and production companies.

Many of our alumni have gone on to enjoy successful careers in screen in roles including: producers, production managers, locations managers, art department, assistant grip, costume maker, costume supervisor. Graduates have worked behind the scenes on feature Films, TV location filming and post production, Animation and a wide range of independent film production. Recent screen credits include: The End of the F***ing World, Kiss Me First, Crazyhead (Channel 4/Netflix); Unforgotten, Broadchurch (ITV); Rellick, Poldark, Being Human, Good Omens (in production) (BBC); Wes Anderson’s Isle of Dogs; Aardman Animations’ Shaun the Sheep, The Pirates! In an Adventure with Scientists!, and Early Man.

Image Credit of Olivia Colman: Denis Makarenko /

Headshot of male

Olivier Nominations (Technical)

John Caird (Won for Nicholas Nickleby and Candide)
Keegan Curran. Sound Designer. (Winner for Rotterdam)
Bob Crowley (left). Set Designer. (Nominated 12 times and won twice)
Wayne Dowdeswell. Lighting Designer. Nominated for Medea and Edward II
Chris Shutt. Sound Designer. Nominated for War Horse, Coram Boy, Every Good Boy Deserves a Favour and Piaf

Olivier Nominations (Best New Play)

Jack Holden was nominated for 2022 Olivier Award for Best New Play, ‘Cruise’, which he was both the writer and performer.

Olivier Nominations (Acting)

Samantha Bond
Simon Cadell (Winner for Travels with my Aunt)
Stephen Dillane
Phil Dunster
David Calder
Robert Hands
Antony Howes
Alex Jennings (Winner for My Fair Lady , Too Clever By Half and Peer Gynt)
Katherine Kingsley
Mark Lambert (Winner for Juno and the Paycock)
Jane Lapotaire. (Winner for Piaf)
Jeremy Northam (Won for The Voysey)
Tim Pigott-Smith
Joanna Riding. (Winner for My Fair Lady and Carousel)
Patricia Routledge
Miranda Richardson
Adrian Scarborough. (Winner for After the Dance)
Malcolm Sinclair
Sir Patrick Stewart (left). (Winner for Hamlet and Anthony and Cleopatra)
Mark Strong. (Winner for A View From The Bridge)
Sophie Thompson (Winner for Into the Woods)

Oscar Nominations (Acting)

Olivia Colman (Winner for The Favourite)
Daniel Day Lewis (Winner for Lincoln, My Left Foot and There Will Be Blood)
Naomie Harris
Jeremy Irons (left) (Winner for Reversal of Fortune)
Pete Postlethwaite
Miranda Richardson

Golden Globe Nominations

Olivia Colman (Winner for The Night Manager and The Favourite)
Annette Crosbie
Daniel Day-Lewis (Winner for There Will Be Blood)
Jeremy Irons (Winner for Elizabeth I and Reversal of Fortune)
Miranda Richardson (left). (Winner for Fatherland and Enchanted April)
Greta Scacchi

Tony Award Nominations

Samantha Bond
John Caird (Won for Nicholas Nickleby)
Bob Crowley (Winner 7 times)
Jane Lapotaire (Winner for Piaf)
Tim Pigott-Smith
Mark Strong (left)

BAFTA Nominations

Helen Baxendale
Olivia Colman (Winner for Broadchurch, Accused,  Twenty Twelve and The Favourite)
Annette Crosbie (Winner for Edward the Seventh and The Six Wives of Henry VIII)
Daniel Day-Lewis. (Winner for Lincoln and Gangs of New York)
Stephen Dillane. (Winner for The Shooting of Thomas Hurndall)
Naomie Harris (left)
Jeremy Irons
Alex Jennings
Luke Newberry
Cyril Nri (Nominated for Cucumber – Channel 4)
Josh O’Connor
Tim Piggott-Smith. (Winner for The Jewel in the Crown)
Pete Postlethwaite
Amanda Redman
Patricia Routledge
Miranda Richardson. (Winner for Damage)
Mark Strong

Portrait/snapshot of actress in evening wear at a film festival - Greta Scacchi

Emmy Nominations

Stephen Dillane
Jeremy Irons (won for Elizabeth I)
Greta Scaachi (won for Rasputin)

Get In Touch

If you are a graduate of Bristol Old Vic Theatre School and would like to get in touch or tell us about any news, successes or awards, we’d love to hear from you! Tel: 0117 973 35 35 or email: [email protected]

The culture at BOVTS is encouraging, respectful, welcoming and empowering; the environment and buildings are beautiful and I found Bristol to be one of the most wonderful cities in which to spend summer! Lindy Yeates, Foundation Course Student